The Green Eclectic











{May 14, 2011}   Books and Journals
The book in which I chronicle my path.

My Journal

Pagan Blog Prompts has yet another useful prompt this week: the classic question of your Book of Shadows, Grimoire, journal, or what have you.

Not being Wiccan, I don’t keep a ‘Book of Shadows’ or a ‘Grimoire,’ but I do have a special journal that I use to keep track my path and my explorations of the Wheel of the Year.

I picked up my most recent journal at a Barnes&Noble while visiting Washington, D.C. last summer.  It was the only such journal they had in stock at the time, and it had (or, should I say, “still has”) a small flaw on the cover, but I was too enamored with it to let a blemish stop me from my purchase.  Only later, when I saw one at a B&N on the opposite side of the continent, did I consciously realize that it’s clearly a mass-produced journal and that I could have gotten one at any B&N.  In fact, you can even get one online.  (Will the wonders of the Internet ever cease?)

But hey, we all have flaws, right?  And this one reminds me of that rainy afternoon in the big city, when my eyes settled on its cover, the curiosity as I pulled it from the shelf, and the appreciation I felt at its weight in my hands.

It’s my newest old friend.  And it’s huge… two inches thick.  I only really write in it on special occasions, not daily — mostly to chronicle my holiday celebrations — so I think it’ll be with me for a very long time.

MrsB says:

Lol! And here I thought *mine* was the only journal like that!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

